International Road Federation (IRF )

Bill M. Halkias

Bill M. Halkias

Board Member & Immediate Past President, International Road Federation

Bill M. Halkias, PE, F. ASCE, F.ITE was elected President of IRF in May 2019. He is since 1999 the Managing Director and CEO of the Attiki Odos (Attica Tollway) Operation and Maintenance Company “Attikes Diadromes SA” in Athens Greece and has participated as Technical Director in the Tollway’s development team since the award of the Concession in 1996.  

He served as the first President of HELLASTRON (HELLENIC ASSOCIATION of TOLL ROAD NETWORK) formed by all toll highways operating in Greece (2014-2019), as well as President of ASECAP, (2018-2019), the European Toll Road Association, serving a four-year term (2016 – 2020) on the Executive Committee since 2016, when he was first elected as 2nd Vice President. He served as Vice President of Aktor ConcessionsSA (2018-2020), representing the Company as Managing Director of Aegean MotorwaySA and Member of the BoD of Olympia Odos Operation SA, the two largest interurban Toll Roads of Greece. 

With 40 years of experience, the first fifteen (15) in the USA and the remaining in Europe, he is specialized in transportation and road infrastructure works. He has completed his Bachelor Degree in Surveying Engineering (1981) at the National Technical University of Athens (NTUA) and his Master’s Degree in Civil Engineering (1984) at the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT), USA.  

Past President (2010-2012) of the Hellenic Institute of Transportation Engineers (H.ITE) and a Licensed Professional Engineer (PE) in eight US States. Fellow Member of both the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) and the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE). Currently Member of the BoD, of the International Bridge Tunnel Turnpike Association (IBTTA) having served also in the past (2007-2010) and Member (2004-2010) of the Freeway Operations Committee of the Transportation Research Board (TRB). 

Mr Halkias served as President of the International Road Federation from 2019 until 2022. He currently is a Member of the IRF Board of Directors.