Phase 2 of the LEARN project kicks off in Senegal

Phase 2 of the LEARN project kicks off in Senegal

The Global Alliance of Road Safety NGOs and the IRF have kicked off the second phase of the LEARN project in Senegal thanks to support from the Total Foundation. Stakeholders from local government, NGOs, road agencies and the civil society took part in a two-day workshop on data and road safety. The training took place on 13th and 14th April 2021 and focused on practical guidance and support to the Senegal multi-stakeholder coalition formed during the phase 1 of the LEARN project.

The LEARN project aims at enhancing the knowledge, skills and actions of a selected group of road safety professionals and stakeholders via hands-on trainings in African countries. Participants invited to take part in this project are selected based on their expertise and fundamental role in road safety, transport infrastructure and education. The initial step of this project consists in the provision of training on data to familiarise the key stakeholders with the tools, techniques and skills necessary to assess the issues related to road safety. The long-term objective is the creation of multi-stakeholder coalitions in African countries to improve road safety policies and interventions.

Kenya and Senegal were the first two African countries selected for this project in 2019. In these two countries, the first phase of the project was particularly successful with the provision of training sessions, the creation of an action plan to tackle road safety around schools and the establishment of a Kenya Partnership for Safe School Zones as well as a Senegal Partnership for Safe School Zones (P4SSZ).

The Total Foundation is supporting the second phase of the LEARN project aiming at supporting the road safety coalitions already established in Senegal and Kenya move their first steps and implement pilot projects to improve road safety around a number of schools in each country. The second phase of the project also aims at scaling up the LEARN approach in four new African countries: Cameroon, Togo, Uganda and Zambia.

Delivered by:

With the support of: